Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 15" Compaq monitor Free

  1. #1
    L7 Private sevenal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    15" Compaq monitor Free

    COMPAQ MV5500 15" CRT FREE
    Here's a twist on the deal previously posted by jon2249
    order from Systemax
    get the 15 monitor for free after rebate
    "you pay shipping"
    I ordered one
    my cost total was $15.22
    good luck i do not know how long this
    one will be around

    http://www.globalcomputer.com/produ...D=1040108527662

  2. #2
    L13 Sergeant Cpaladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've seen this deal in the past, such as at amazon.com

    One thing I've always wanted to know is, can the speakers come off? I'm using an ancient 14" on one of my spare PCs and wouldn't mind an upgrade, but, space is very tight where the monitor is located. So I've wondered if those stupid speakers can come off and it used with a more normal footprint.

    Incidentally, I don't consider JBL stupid, stilling using my ol' JBLs from 16 years ago, just meant it as a figure of speech ;)

  3. #3
    L14 Officer Protégé Ménacé's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sideways in the dirt
    Posts
    532
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the link is dead. the "..." became part of the URL, repost it again.

    I have 2 comptuers on my desk here now, and my OLD 15" POS cant show many colors so maybe this owuld be a good thing for me :D

  4. #4
    L13 Sergeant Cpaladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That 15" POS....it's not currently set as "default monitor" in windows by any chance?

    I've lost track of the number of people I've run into that complained that their monitor couldn't do more than 640x480 and/or 256 colors, only for it to turn out that all it was, was that the monitor couldn't PNP on it's own so windows bunged it in as default monitor. Default monitor usually carries with it a limitation of 640x480 and VGA. Even "unknown monitor" is better and less restrictive, in so far as a windows configuration is concerned, than default monitor.

    Even sold a video card on ebay once and after it was sold/shipped, I find out from the person that that was why they were buying it. Soon as I knew this, I told them to change the monitor driver to one of the MS generic drivers for say 800 x 600 SVGA @ 75hz and voila, their old vidcard + monitor could suddenly do a higher rez and colors before receiving the one they got from me.

    Incidentally, price of monitor is now up to 179.99.

  5. #5
    L14 Officer Protégé Ménacé's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sideways in the dirt
    Posts
    532
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had been playing wiht the res and # of colors. the higher the res the fewer colors i could have :(

    right now it says its default monitor. the only drivers i can find are for sindows 95/98 and didnt work on win2000.

    blast this OLD POS goldstar monitor >:0

  6. #6
    L13 Sergeant Cpaladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    "I had been playing wiht the res and # of colors. the higher the res the fewer colors i could have"

    That's a limitation of your videocard's memory. If you have an older computer with say a 1, 2, or 4 meg videocard, that's gonna be your problem. A 1 meg video card can do 640x480 in 24bit, but only 800x600 in 16 bit. A 2 meg card can do ya 800x60 in 24/32 bit, but, not 1024x768. A 4 meg card will do ya 1024x768 in 32 bit, but..

    well you get the idea.

    If you have a 2 or 4 meg vga card and ya slap a 19" monitor on it, you aren't gonna get 1280x768 in 32 bit color.

    However, to solve your monitor problem in windows 2000 do this.

    1) Go into system

    2) Click on hardware

    3) Click on device manager

    4) Click on the + symbol alongside monitor

    5) Right click on default monitor and choose properties

    6) Click on driver

    7) Click on update driver

    8) Click next

    9) Choose "display a list of known drivers"...etc and choose next

    10) Choose "show all hardware of this device class"

    11) wait while win2k crunches

    12) You can scroll down the list on the left for goldstar, see if your model is listed. Otherwise choose from the 'standard monitor types' and select "super vga 1280x1024 @ 75 hz" and click next. Windows will tell you it's ready to install this, click next and well, should be a next or OK or something after this.

    IF after this setting you find that higher resolutions reduces the number of colors you can display, then your problem IS your videocard and the limitation of it. Not your monitor. In which case, replacing the monitor won't solve your problem.

    What display card you have ( this is revealed in device manager ) and how much memory you have for it? If you don't know, click start, click run, type in DXDIAG and click OK to run the directx diagnostic util. Under display it will show how much video ram you have.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 06:10 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2008, 05:55 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 04:08 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2006, 08:07 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-17-2005, 03:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS Feed Facebook Twitter
Spoofee-Footer
Submit Deals
Have a good deal or coupon? Want to share with our members? Please post it on our forums

If it's a hot deal, we will post it on the front page with your name on it!
Follow Us
New Deals
Hot Deals Only (4.5+ stars)
New Coupons
Facebook Fanpage