Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Crucial 512MB PC2700 for $43 Shipped

  1. #1
    L9 Corporal jon2249's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    135
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Crucial 512MB PC2700 for $43 Shipped

    Crucial has the 512MB PC2700 for $43 Shipped!
    Using coupon code NLHP25Q610
    512MB PC2700 for:
    $68
    -$25 off coupon code
    $43 /w free shipping.

    Search for CT6464Z335 to find it.

  2. #2
    L12 Sergeant lexington01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My motherboard supports PC2700, but I use PC2100 now.
    Is there a big advantage? Doesn't memory speed have something to do with the fsb?
    ~Brandon

  3. #3
    L3 Member Jon Irenicas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lexington01
    My motherboard supports PC2700, but I use PC2100 now.
    Is there a big advantage? Doesn't memory speed have something to do with the fsb?
    ~Brandon
    It really doesn't matter unless you have a CPU with a 333 fsb speed. PC 2100 ram supports fsb speeds of 266 and PC 2700 supports up to 333. But you can only go as high as your CPU fsb speed. So if you have a CPU with 266 mhz FSB then anything higher then PC 2100 would be a waste, although you can buy now for the future when you will have a 333 Mhz fsb CPU. And vice versa if you have a 333 fsb CPU with PC 2100 memory then to get that CPU to run at it's rated speed you'd have to overclock the memory which would most likely be far too unstable or go out and buy PC 2700 or higher memory.

    Hopes this makes sense.

  4. #4
    L12 Sergeant lexington01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I think it does.
    I have a pentium 4 1.8, which is 400mhz fsb.
    I guess what confuses me is why memory speeds haven't kept pace with fsb speeds. I was looking at upgrading my cpu, and my board will support up to 533 fsb. No memory is anywhere near that.
    What's the deal?
    ~Brandon

  5. #5
    L3 Member Jon Irenicas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lexington01
    I think it does.
    I have a pentium 4 1.8, which is 400mhz fsb.
    I guess what confuses me is why memory speeds haven't kept pace with fsb speeds. I was looking at upgrading my cpu, and my board will support up to 533 fsb. No memory is anywhere near that.
    What's the deal?
    ~Brandon
    Crap, my post was referencing to Athlon processors. It doesn't work the same with Pentium processors. Hell Pentium has announced a 800 fsb pentium 4. I can't explain how it works because i don't have much experience with pentiums. Sorry i didn't turn out to be anyhelp after all.

    Maybe there are some pentium experts here...

  6. #6
    L11 Sergeant carasage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    260
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Irenicas
    Quote Originally Posted by lexington01
    I think it does.
    I have a pentium 4 1.8, which is 400mhz fsb.
    I guess what confuses me is why memory speeds haven't kept pace with fsb speeds. I was looking at upgrading my cpu, and my board will support up to 533 fsb. No memory is anywhere near that.
    What's the deal?
    ~Brandon
    Crap, my post was referencing to Athlon processors. It doesn't work the same with Pentium processors. Hell Pentium has announced a 800 fsb pentium 4. I can't explain how it works because i don't have much experience with pentiums. Sorry i didn't turn out to be anyhelp after all.

    Maybe there are some pentium experts here...
    Pentium 4 recommends not DDR (PC2100, 2700, 3000, etc) as their FSB are still low, but instead look for RDRam (Rambus) they match P4's FSB, but they are much much more expensive.

    Just my two cents.
    you know you want it... so why not have it?

  7. #7
    L3 Member Jon Irenicas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Actually RDram is virtually obsolete. It is expensive because it's hard to find. For quite awhile Intel chipsets and motherboards have used DDR memory, namely motherboards for the new Pentium 4's with 800 mhz FSB use DDR. When P4's were first released RDram was the only choice because P4 chipsets didn't support DDR but today DDR is the standard for P4 and Athlon CPU's. RDram has no advantage over DDR, only disadvantages.

  8. #8
    L12 Sergeant lexington01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    So is DDR the bottleneck in my system?

  9. #9
    L13 Sergeant x_OoO_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    miami, florida
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No you're fine dont worry about it...

    If you need more help, go to Crucial's or other RAM company's website and they will tell you which RAM sticks are optimum for your motherboard and cpu...

    You should be find, DDR isn't bottlenecking your system...

    But you can probably go PC-3200...

    Rambus is not obsolete, it runs at mad speeds, it's awkward to have it on a commercial computer but it's highly notrious around server computers. They constantly use Rambus for the speed it can dose out and use the 1gig or 1024mb memory for storage instead of HDs that only have a cycle of 15,000 rpms for servers... which actually, they dont use anymore, i think..

    He should be FINE, hey your motherboard should have a manual that explains the types of RAM you should use... everything is DDR now... well no, but close.
    -I|I- Satisfaction Lies within the Effort -I|I-

  10. #10
    L0 N00b xorkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    From crucial site

    Contact Info >> Delivery Info >> Payment Info >> Confirm Order

    The following error(s) occurred:
    Sorry, you can't redeem this coupon code with the items you're purchasing. This coupon is only valid for Save $25 on popular 512MB upgrades. If you would like to use this coupon now, please review the conditions of the coupon and make the necessary changes to your cart.

    This is when I tried to order the 512mb pc2700

  11. #11
    L13 Sergeant x_OoO_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    miami, florida
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh, Uhm, look up you COMPUTER COMPATIBILITY at Corsair's website...

    Corsair makes the best DDRams and RDRams... so yeah, check their site, also try Mushkin... Mushkin makes good RAM as well, just the quality isnt as good as Corsair...

    Corsair is leading Memory manufacture right now.
    -I|I- Satisfaction Lies within the Effort -I|I-

  12. #12
    L13 Sergeant x_OoO_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    miami, florida
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Btw...

    Anyone heard of the brand GiEL? They make Memory, DDR and Rambus, I wanna know if anyone knows how good they are, I've heard that they are pretty good, but no professional reviews...

    GiEL...
    -I|I- Satisfaction Lies within the Effort -I|I-

  13. #13
    L12 Sergeant lexington01's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bah! Stick with good old faithful PNY.















    This is a joke, this is only a joke. Had this been a real opinion, I would be an idiot. :D

  14. #14
    L13 Sergeant x_OoO_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    miami, florida
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lexington01
    This is a joke, this is only a joke. Had this been a real opinion, I would be an idiot. :D
    Luckily I read that or I would have said... *ahem* hahha

    PNY is a decent company, but if I had my choice, I would go purely Corsair, 1024mb DDRam... 3 sticks... =P

    Raedon ATi 9600 128mb DDR

    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.06gig processor

    Seagate 15gig 15,000 rpm BASE drive
    Maxtor 200 gig 7200 rpm Secondary

    YAMAHA CD-RW 48x48x56

    ASUS [MOBO]

    Blah Blah... others arnt as important... :rolleyes:
    -I|I- Satisfaction Lies within the Effort -I|I-

  15. #15
    L13 Sergeant Cpaladin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Irenicas
    When P4's were first released RDram was the only choice because P4 chipsets didn't support DDR but today DDR is the standard for P4 and Athlon CPU's. RDram has no advantage over DDR, only disadvantages.
    As for why RDRAM was the only choice, that was due to internal politics and contractual agreements with Rambus that required them to push rdram, not make a ddr sdram chipset, etc etc. I miss the court battles, it was like watching a soap

    As for why this changed, market forces and economics, not performance, drove intel to DDR.

    As for the notion that rdram has no advantage over DDR...

    BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

    Rambus is wack and as a company I wish they would DIE but this statement is just not accurate. There always were advantages and disadvantages to P4 with ddr or rdram. What remains to be seen is if DDRII will match rambus PC1066 bandwidth while still having lower latency benefit.

    CP

    P.S. I am well aware of the peak bandwidth of dual channel pc3200 nforce2 + ddr400 but seeing as how there is no nvidia nforce 2 chipset for P4 (yet) then the issue is moot.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 03:33 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2004, 10:07 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-17-2004, 12:53 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-04-2003, 02:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS Feed Facebook Twitter
Spoofee-Footer
Submit Deals
Have a good deal or coupon? Want to share with our members? Please post it on our forums

If it's a hot deal, we will post it on the front page with your name on it!
Follow Us
New Deals
Hot Deals Only (4.5+ stars)
New Coupons
Facebook Fanpage