Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Internet Explorer ?

  1. #1
    Every knee shall bow <>< Brother Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts

    Internet Explorer ?

    A friend of mine wanted me to look at his laptop's Problem. What is happening is almost every page we navigate to, the words and links are extreemly large. Under the View menu and text size; "smallest" is choosen. Also if you hold down Ctrl and move your mouse wheel, nothing happens. Has anyone else ever seen this b4, He is using ie 6.0 sp2. Does anyone know a fix for ie 6 sp2 to correct this problem? Thanks

  2. #2
    Fargin Mayans. diGriz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4,095
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 87 Times in 23 Posts

    Bag it.

    Switch to Firefox

  3. #3
    It's like déj- vu again spazntwitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ah yes, I remember it well
    Posts
    9,332
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 91 Times in 43 Posts
    Have you tried IE7? If not, then take diGriz' advise. Firefox baby!
    ..../\„,„/\
    ...( =';'= )
    .../*♥♥*\
    .(.|.|..|.|.)

  4. #4
    Super Moderatorette Cedar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7,100
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 62 Times in 24 Posts
    Does this person use a wireless key board & mouse? That's happened to me with IE when I first used wireless, had to switch to Firefox. I would use my mouse scroll and it would enlarge all the text, I would have to choose small again.
    Firefox hasn't been GREAT, for me at least lately.

  5. #5
    Every knee shall bow <>< Brother Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
    The Laptop belongs to a Dr. and he can't upgrade to IE7 because some websites the we use in the medical field are not IE7 compatible yet. I don't want to mention firefox to him because he might get confused with a new browser. sometimes simple is better, firefox would open up a new can of worms with a million questions... I am not sure if the Doc uses wireless keyboard, mouse @ home. I don't think it has anything to do with mouse scroll. It is the wierdest thing I have ever seen, the words and url links are gigantic, like you have to scroll down just to read one url... font size is like 90 or so ..... Thanks for any help

  6. #6
    It's like déj- vu again spazntwitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ah yes, I remember it well
    Posts
    9,332
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 91 Times in 43 Posts
    What about re-installing IE6?
    ..../\„,„/\
    ...( =';'= )
    .../*♥♥*\
    .(.|.|..|.|.)

  7. #7
    Can you hold this for me? eabu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    25°48′46.89″N 80°8′2.63″W
    Posts
    1,676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    brother ron, you can also try creating a new user profile in user accounts, if that is not such a big hassle

    cedar, why hasnt firefox been great for you lately

  8. #8
    Super Moderatorette Cedar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7,100
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 62 Times in 24 Posts
    Since the upgrade it just seems slower then ever, uses a ton of ram.

  9. #9
    It's like déj- vu again spazntwitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ah yes, I remember it well
    Posts
    9,332
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 91 Times in 43 Posts
    Even after the upgrade yesterday or today?
    ..../\„,„/\
    ...( =';'= )
    .../*♥♥*\
    .(.|.|..|.|.)

  10. #10
    Super Moderatorette Cedar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7,100
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 62 Times in 24 Posts
    Since the upgrade, don't recall how long ago that was.

  11. #11
    It's like déj- vu again spazntwitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ah yes, I remember it well
    Posts
    9,332
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 91 Times in 43 Posts
    I see. They put out an upgrade yesterday to 2.0.0.1. Click the Help menu and then choose the Upgrade option.
    ..../\„,„/\
    ...( =';'= )
    .../*♥♥*\
    .(.|.|..|.|.)

  12. #12
    Can you hold this for me? eabu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    25°48′46.89″N 80°8′2.63″W
    Posts
    1,676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cedar
    Since the upgrade it just seems slower then ever, uses a ton of ram.
    could i suggest some more ram for christmas

  13. #13
    Fargin Mayans. diGriz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4,095
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 87 Times in 23 Posts

    OK - here's another thought

    What is the screen setting on???

    1024 x 768 / 800 x 600

    is every program enlarged or just IE?

    If you're worried about some of his programs not working with IE7, then you definitely don't want to suggest firefox.

    Have you tried looking for a solution on Microsoft knowledge base?

  14. #14
    Every knee shall bow <>< Brother Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
    Resolution is set high, not sure at the moment, but I know it is more than 800x600. It is only on IE that the large text is appearing. The wierd thing is, it is not happening on every site; mainly travel sites; like travelocity or expedia, Google was huge but i changed the font size down to smallest and it corrected itself. Myspace is semi huge, not as huge as if you go to travelocity. Travelocity is ginormus. If I go to travelocity, I see the travelocity logo then the word HOME which takes up the whole screen, then "Vacation Packages which you have to scroll down to see the whole word it is soo big, with a total white background. Then go to google and everything is ok. Wierd, very wierd. I guess i could do a reinstall of ie6 and see what happens. I asked when did it start and he claims it has been this way since he got the laptop a year ago. hmmmm

  15. #15
    Super Moderatorette Cedar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    7,100
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 62 Times in 24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eabu
    could i suggest some more ram for christmas

    I know, I know only have a 1 gb of ram. You would think by being here daily I would have picked some up.

    Nope concert tickets & a new bed is what I bought myself for the holiday. Ram can wait


    and thanks Spaz

Similar Threads

  1. Free $5 to eBay for installing Internet Explorer 9, Pin eBay icon
    By glitterdog in forum Freebies and Giveaways
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 04:28 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 07:08 PM
  3. Is Internet Explorer 8 Better Than The Rest?
    By Spoofee in forum Off Topic Discussion & General Questions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 08:26 AM
  4. Internet Explorer 7 - Something to look forward to?
    By Spoofee in forum Off Topic Discussion & General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS Feed Facebook Twitter
Spoofee-Footer
Submit Deals
Have a good deal or coupon? Want to share with our members? Please post it on our forums

If it's a hot deal, we will post it on the front page with your name on it!
Follow Us
New Deals
Hot Deals Only (4.5+ stars)
New Coupons
Facebook Fanpage