Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Microcenter - Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13GHz CPU for $159.99

  1. #1
    Spoofee.com! Spoofee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    62,718
    Thanks
    193
    Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,152 Posts

    Ad Microcenter - Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13GHz CPU for $159.99

    Micro Center has some great deals on Intel Core 2 Duo CPUs.

    Intel Core2Duo E6400 (2.13GHz) for $159.99
    - In-store : $159.99 | Store Locator
    - Online Price : $159.99 + Ship

    Intel Core2Duo E6700 (2.66Ghz) for $399.99
    - In-store : $399.99 | Store Locator
    - Online Price : $399.99 + Ship

    Intel Core2Duo Extreme X6800 (2.93GHz) for $749.99
    - In-store : $749.99 | Store Locator
    - Online Price : $749.99 + Ship
    Thank you for using Spoofee.com

  2. #2
    L10 Corporal RamHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Good price for OEM chips. Hope to see Intel C2D prices go even lower with AMD price cut announcement. Probably in the start of Q2.

    I usually get the Retail version and pay a little extra. You get a good warranty and heatsink/fan. Just depends on what I'm building. Cheapest retail 2.13 GHz is about $225 compared to this OEM at $160. I'd rank this a good deal but I think the prices will continue to fall.

    Thanks Spoofee!

  3. #3
    L13 Sergeant elgrangus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    381
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    What does a regular guy/girl is supposed to do with one of these?

  4. #4
    L10 Corporal MakaveliReturns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Buy a new motherboard and possibly a graphics card to support this new CPU.

  5. #5
    L10 Corporal RamHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, I built my brother a new PC with the Ultra Mid-Tower Case (FAR), and added an Ultra 500W power supply (FAR). Got two really cheap 500 GB hard drives ($129 ea w/ Free Ship and no tax). Then bought MB, Vid, CPU (retail), and mem to make a rockin' game system for a very decent price. Spoofee has at least helped to take a chunk off the total price with the nice deals!

  6. #6
    L14 Officer TheRingWraithe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Providence,RI
    Posts
    502
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    $749.99 for a CPU!

    Gulp!

    I love computers but not that much....

    Also as RamHawk mentioned, this is an OEM offering not a retail box so it DOES NOT include a fan/heatsink, and it only has a 90 day warranty.

  7. #7
    L15 Officer Mortiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    912
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts

    not avalible

    no longer avalible

  8. #8
    L12 Sergeant whttgr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    I think I need a vacation...
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRingWraithe View Post
    $749.99 for a CPU!

    Gulp!

    I love computers but not that much....
    strange that you should balk at such a price. Not too long ago computers sold for thousands of dollars. Even today if you want top of the line you will spend around 1500 and up. The biggest chunk is usually the processor.

  9. #9
    L14 Officer TheRingWraithe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Providence,RI
    Posts
    502
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I build up desktops as a hobby. I usually come in around $250 for the whole shebang. Most of the parts are available here on Spoofee free or nearly free AR.

    Spending triple that just for the CPU is unimaginable to me.

    Top of the line has nothing to do with it. Spending $1500 and up only gives you bragging rights about the size of your wallet.

    If you insist on the bleeding edge in Intel CPU's plus the newest PCI-e video card plus a pair of SATA 500mb Hds in a RAID array, then yes you will spend a lot of bucks.

    If you are a devotee of this and other deal boards,willing to spend around $250, you can build up a super box thats more than able and capable of running any app out there including Photoshop, Vista Ultimate, the Avid Video Editor, Solaris, Ubuntu, and just about any game. Plus your new box will still outperform 90% of the desktops out there so you retain bragging rights.

    Yes, I realize that benchmarking numbers produced from comparing a Core2Duo versus say a Socket 478 will be markedly different. Those are lab numbers. If you build up a box around a 478 family chip it will do a dynamite job of editing up your latest ripped version of "The Departed" quite nicely. (I'm doing that in fact right now - terrific film BTW :claps: )

    This is all that matters, how does the machine perform with real world apps which you use daily.
    Last edited by TheRingWraithe; 02-23-2007 at 09:09 PM. Reason: Logic and spelling errors

  10. #10
    L8 Private Machtyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheRingWraithe View Post
    ...you can build up a super box thats more than able and capable of running any app out there including Photoshop, Vista Ultimate...
    Surely you jest. Nothing can run Vista right now!

    Just kidding, of course. But check out driver support and the complaints from graphics cards users before using Vista.

  11. #11
    L14 Officer TheRingWraithe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Providence,RI
    Posts
    502
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Surely you jest. Nothing can run Vista right now!
    I've been running Vista RC2 since it was released back in October. (never did try RC1) 32bit Cpu, I Gb mem, 256Mb video card.


    I've got a couple of, err, 'funny' versions of Vista here dl'ed but until RC2 time bombs out, I won't need to install one of those.

    I've read postings that you can build up a Live DVD version of Vista and I'd like to give that a try as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 08:07 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2008, 02:06 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2007, 11:50 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2007, 09:14 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-19-2006, 04:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS Feed Facebook Twitter
Spoofee-Footer
Submit Deals
Have a good deal or coupon? Want to share with our members? Please post it on our forums

If it's a hot deal, we will post it on the front page with your name on it!
Follow Us
New Deals
Hot Deals Only (4.5+ stars)
New Coupons
Facebook Fanpage