Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Problem With Host - Once Again

  1. #1
    Guest
    Guest Guest's Avatar

    Problem With Host - Once Again

    We are unable to upload to the server and the tech support at APLUS.net tried as well and has no clue on what the problem is. Aplus.net claims they'll fix it with in 24 hours.

    We apologize for all the problems we caused for choosing Aplus.net as our web host. :(

  2. #2
    L9 Corporal Krakath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I mentioned this before, but I think it wouldnt be too bad of an idea to consider www.phpwebhosting.com I run two websites with that provider, and I found them to be very reliable

    And no, I'm not their solicitor, just a satisfied customer :D

    EDIT: If you do go for that, you can backup the database here and just export it, it will be a lot less work at least in that respect Youre also given direct control of your databases through phpMyAdmin

  3. #3
    L2 Member Xingzoa's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Spoofee fix

    Don't these ISP tech guys know that we all need our 'Spoofee Fix' every day......lord how am I going to get through the morning at work ;)

    -- Xing

  4. #4
    L6 Recruit JKLiMpKoRn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Spoofee to me is like what cocaine is to a Hollywood actor. Or like what chocolate and women are to Rossie OŽDonell (HAHA).... please... dont leave me again! :(

  5. #5
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If it's available in your area (and the provider allows it), you should consider a DSL line and run your own server. Then there's nobody to blame but yourself when things go wrong.

  6. #6
    L9 Corporal insanex1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    but if you run it from home with cable/dsl upload speeds aren't fast enough for a website with this much traffic unless you want to pay a lot of money but then its not worth it.
    I gots dealz baby

  7. #7
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That depends. I pay $50/month for DSL with 128 kbps upstream bandwidth, but I also have a cable modem with 1000 kbps upstream for which I only pay $30/month. Unfortunately my cable provider doesn't allow servers. My point is that in certain areas there may be broadband options that would make running a moderate to high bandwidth server an option.

  8. #8
    L3 Member Helter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    1 Mbps isn't enough for a popular website.

    On top of that you are getting UP TO 1 Mbps, you don't get that consistently through the day.


    Hey spoof, if you need reliable hosting I can hook you up. My servers experience around 99.5% uptime, and really only go down if we have an abusive customer (who is always identified and either moved or shut down immediately) or take the server down for upgrades/work (which is a fact of life for servers, and neccesary to keep the server secure). I'm not the cheapest option, but reliability costs money.

    If you're interested just kick me an email with your requirements. I can't imagine that you go much past 20 or 30 gigs of bandwidth a month, right?

  9. #9
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I get 1 Mbps at all times on my cable modem. This is with Optimum Online, by far the best cable provider in the country. It's capped at 1 Mbps upstream, but the service is not over sold and there is room to spare on each local loop so 1 Mbps is very consistent.

    I highly doubt this site uses more than 1 Mbps bandwidth even at peak times. It's not graphics intensive. The main Spoofee page with graphics and HTML is currently 135k, so a 1 Mbps pipe could support 7 visitors per second, which is over 600,000 per day. As great as Spoofee is, I don't think it has that much traffic. Plus these number are not taking into account caching of browser or proxies.

  10. #10
    L3 Member Helter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There are a number of problems with this.
    First of all you get 1 MegaBIT per second, whereas this site is 135 kiloBYTES. Put your bandwidth into bytes and you find that you get 125 kiloBYTES per second. Quite a bit different from what you had thought it was.
    Secondly you're assuming with your incorrect 600,000 number that traffic comes evenly and uniformly throughout the day, which is incorrect. A number of the websites that I administer recieve over half of their traffic during a daily 6 hour period. I don't know what the spread is at spoofee.com, but I'd imagine that it's somewhat similar.
    Then, even assuming that you DO have enough bandwidth on your connection (which you don't) there's the issue of consistency. While it may seem that your service is consistent, unless you do week long bandwidth tests you really can't tell. You also couldn't know whether the service is oversold or not (which is almost certainly is, do you really think that if every single customer started downloading and uploading their limit that you wouldn't experience a slowdown?) unless you're privy to their internal business decisions. Slowdowns that you wouldn't even notice in normal use can be crippling for a web server.

    Then of course he has to either buy a webserver or serve from his personal computer. If he's serving from his computer you can expect webservice to gring to a halt anytime he's doing any tasking work or copying files or installing programs. Of course then anytime he has to reboot his computer the server is down for a few minutes. If he buys a server then he has to learn how to administer it, which can be a daunting task itself. Assuming he's not an administrator already and he's setting up his own linux server he can reasonably expect to be rooted within a week, if he's setting up his own windows server it probably won't even take that long.

    And what happens when the server goes down? In a datacenter you've got techs monitoring the farm 24/7 who can always be reached to pull the server back online if it goes down for some reason. You also have a server that's shared by lots of other clients, assuring you that as soon as a server goes down, it's almost guaranteed that SOMEBODY will be paying attention to get the techs on the case. If he's out to dinner how does he find out that his server is down to come home and fix it? What about when he's asleep?

    But hey, I only do this professionaly, it's not like I'D know anything about it.

  11. #11
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay, so if the 1 mbps connection could handle 1 visitor per second, that's enough for most sites, including Spoofee I bet.

    If you don't think my bandwidth is what I say it is ALL THE TIME then take a look here:

    http://www.dslreports.com/archive/optonline.net

    You can see the results from hundreds of people with my provider performing bandwidth tests at all times of the day over a period of years. They're almost all over 900 kbps upstream. It really is the world's best cable modem service, and it has been rated such by most of the computer mags that have reviewed it. Available bandwidth does not drop at peak times. It just doesn't. Trust me. They're great about splitting a node when there are too many people from one neighborhood with service.

    As far reliability when hosting your own server, it couldn't possibly be worse than Spoofee has seen the past couple of weeks. Techs around 24/7? Spoofee has had problems even getting techs to listen when the site is down. Read the apology on the main page about the 12 hours of downtime yesterday. A couole of weeks ago the forums were down for days because the host wouldn't respond. I've been running a win2k server for 8 months with only 45 minutes of downtime. The only equipment I have that contributes to reliability is a raid 1 hard drive configuration (haven't had a drive failure though), and a UPS system with two very large (and heavy!) external batteries that will power the server for more than 24 hours in the event of a power failure (have had 2 power outages).

    I understand you're in the business of hosting, so it's not advantageous to you if people run their own servers, but it is a viable option in many cases.

  12. #12
    L3 Member Helter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, home hosting is a very viable solution for lot's of people. Namely people who are hosting personal sites that don't bring them any income. Unless I'm mistaken spoofee doesn't fit that description.

  13. #13
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't fit that description either. I didn't mention that my business depends on my web server, it's my primary source of income, and my family and I are very comfortable.

    You say "home hosting." I never said my cable modem, DSL connection, and web server were in my home. There are lots of businesses that run web servers on SDSL connections.

  14. #14
    L3 Member Helter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well that's your perogative. Big risk for small savings in my opinion.

  15. #15
    L11 Sergeant Shiftlock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    By the way, addressing the issue of security, being somewhat of a former hax0r myself, I know there's no such thing as a completely secure system, but running a win2k box you can be reasonably safe if you just take a few simple steps:

    Install the latest service pack and all other security updates.

    Put the server behind a router (or other firewall-type product) and make sure port 80 is the only port accessible to the outside.

    Forget IIS, run Apache.

    Take obvious steps such as making sure your file and directory permissions are set properly.

Similar Threads

  1. Math Problem =[
    By jl514 in forum Off Topic Discussion & General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 10:11 AM
  2. Small Problem to Big Problem (Video)
    By Spoofee in forum Off Topic Discussion & General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-05-2005, 01:48 AM
  3. Help Problem
    By carasage in forum Discuss Spoofee.com / Report Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-04-2003, 05:59 PM
  4. Problem with 15 off 200 at buy.com
    By Ghiaii75 in forum Discuss Spoofee.com / Report Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 02:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
RSS Feed Facebook Twitter
Spoofee-Footer
Submit Deals
Have a good deal or coupon? Want to share with our members? Please post it on our forums

If it's a hot deal, we will post it on the front page with your name on it!
Follow Us
New Deals
Hot Deals Only (4.5+ stars)
New Coupons
Facebook Fanpage